Alabama Supreme Court Chief Justices

Lyn Stuart: 2017 --

Roy S. Moore: 2013 -- 2017 Charles R. Malone: 2011 -- 2013
Sue Bell Cobb: 2007 -- 2011Drayton Nabers: 2004 - 2007
Governor Bob Riley appointed Nabers Chief Justice on June 22, 2004 to fill Roy Moore's unexpired term.
Roy S. Moore: 2001 -- 2003
Moore was removed from office on November 13, 2003, and Justice J. Gorman Houston became Acting Chief Justice.
Perry O. Hooper, Sr.: 1995-2001
Ernest Clayton "Sonny" Hornsby: 1989-1995Clement Clay Torbert, Jr.: 1977-1989
Howell T. Heflin: 1971-1977J. Ed Livingston: 1951-1971
Lucien D. Gardner: 1940-1951John C. Anderson: 1914-1940
James R. Dowdell: 1909-1914John R. Tyson: 1906-1909
Thomas N. McClellan: 1894-1906George W. Stone: 1884-1894
Robert C. Brickell: 1874-1884, 1894-1898Thomas M. Peters: 1873-1874
E. Wolsey Peck: 1868-1873A. J. Walker: 1859-1868
Samuel F. Rice: 1856-1859George Goldthwaite: 1856-1856
William P. Chilton: 1852-1856Edmund S. Dargan: 1849-1852
Henry W. Collier: 1837-1849Arthur F. Hopkins: 1837-1837
Henry Hitchock: 1836-1837 Reuben Saffold: 1834-1836
Abner S. Lipscomb: 1823-1834Clement Clay: 1820-1823

Return to Alabama Constitutional Officers
Return to Alabama Government Officials
Return to Alabama History On-Line

Alabama Judicial System