Alabama Counties: Walker County


Click on the map to get a detailed image of the county
Provided by Alabama Maps


map of Alabama counties with Walker County highlighted

Walker County was created by the Alabama legislature on 1823 Dec. 26, and was named for U.S. Senator John Williams Walker. The county is located in the northwestern part of the state, and is bordered by Winston, Cullman, Blount, Jefferson, Tuscaloosa, Fayette, and Marion counties. It encompasses 803 square miles. Walker County is exceeded only by Jefferson County in the production of coal. The county is drained by the Black Warrior River and Mulberry and Sipsey Forks. The county seat is Jasper, named for William Jasper, a hero of the American Revolution. Other towns and communities include Carbon Hill, Corona, and Cordova. Fires at the courthouse occurred in 1865, 1877, 1886, and 1932.







  Owen, Thomas McAdory. History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography. Chicago: S. J. Clarke   Publishing Co., 1921.



Return to Alabama Counties
Return to Alabama History On-Line




Updated: February 6, 2014