Alabama Counties: Talladega County


Click on the map to get a detailed image of the county
Provided by Alabama Maps


map of Alabama counties with Talladega County highlighted

Talladega County was created by an act of the Alabama General Assembly on 18 Dec. 1832, from land ceded by the Creek Indians. It is located near the geographic center of the state, in the Coosa River Valley. It encompasses 753 square miles. The county is named for a Creek Indian village. The county seat was established at Talladega in 1834. Other significant towns include Sylacauga, Childersburg, Sycamore and Lincoln.






  Owen, Thomas McAdory. History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography. Chicago: S. J. Clarke   Publishing Co., 1921.



Return to Alabama Counties
Return to Alabama History On-Line




Updated: February 6, 2014