Alabama Counties: Pike County


Click on the map to get a detailed image of the county
Provided by Alabama Maps


map of Alabama counties with Pike County highlighted

Pike County was created on 1821 Dec. 17. The county boundaries changed several times before being set at their current locations in 1866. The county was named for Gen. Zebulon Pike (New Jersey), a soldier in the War of 1812. The first county seat was established at Louisville, later moved to Monticello and finally located in Troy in 1839.


Pike County is located in the southeastern section of the state, in the coastal plain or "Wiregrass" area. It encompasses 672 square miles. A teachers' training college, Troy Normal School, was established in Troy in 1887. Today it exists as Troy University. Other towns located in the county include Brundidge, Spring Hill and Henderson.




  Owen, Thomas McAdory. History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography. Chicago: S. J. Clarke   Publishing Co., 1921.



Return to Alabama Counties
Return to Alabama History On-Line




Updated: February 6, 2014