Alabama Counties: Marshall County


Click on the map to get a detailed image of the county
Provided by Alabama Maps


map of Alabama counties with Marshall County highlighted

Marshall County was created in 1836 Jan. 9 and named to honor Chief Justice John Marshall. The county is located in the northeastern part of the state on the Appalachian ridge. It encompasses 567 square miles. The Tennessee River cuts through the northern part of the county, creating Guntersville Lake.


The county seat was established in 1836 at Claysville, moved to Marshall in 1838, to Warrenton in 1841, and finally located at Guntersville in 1848. Other towns in the county include Arab, Albertville and Boaz.


The Sand Mountain Reporter online




  Owen, Thomas McAdory. History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography. Chicago: S. J. Clarke   Publishing Co., 1921.


USGenNet: Marshall County


Return to Alabama Counties
Return to Alabama History On-Line




Updated: February 6, 2014