Alabama Counties: Marion County


Click on the map to get a detailed image of the county
Provided by Alabama Maps


map of Alabama counties with Marion County highlighted

Marion County was created by an act of the Alabama Territorial General Assembly on 1818 Feb. 13. It is located in the northwestern part of the state, bounded on the west by the State of Mississippi. It encompasses 743 square miles. The county was named for General Francis Marion of South Carolina. The county seat was established in Hamilton in 1820. Other significant towns include Winfield, Brilliant and Hackleburg.




  Owen, Thomas McAdory. History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography. Chicago: S. J. Clarke   Publishing Co., 1921.



Return to Alabama Counties
Return to Alabama History On-Line