Alabama Counties: Houston County


Click on the map to get a detailed image of the county
Provided by Alabama Maps


map of Alabama counties with Houston County highlighted

Houston County was created by the Alabama legislature on 1903 Feb. 9, from parts of Dale, Geneva, and Henry counties. It encompasses 577 square miles. It was named in honor of Alabama Gov. George Smith Houston. Houston County lies in the extreme southeastern corner of the state, in the Wiregrass region, and borders the State of Georgia on the east and Florida to the south. The county seat is Dothan, which was known as Poplar Head, prior to 1871. Other towns and communities include Cottonwood, Ashford, and Webb.


Dothan Eagle online




  Owen, Thomas McAdory. History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography. Chicago: S. J. Clarke   Publishing Co., 1921.



Return to Alabama Counties
Return to Alabama History On-Line




Updated: February 6, 2014