Alabama Counties: Cullman County


Click-on the map to get a detailed image of the county
Provided by Alabama Maps


map of Alabama counties with Cullman County highlighted

Cullman County was created by the Alabama legislature on 1877 Jan. 24, from portions of Blount, Morgan, and Winston Counties. It was named after John G. Cullmann, a native of Germany who encouraged the immigration of Germans to northern Alabama. Cullman County lies in the north-central part of the state, and is bounded on the north by Morgan and Marshall Counties, on the east by Marshall and Blount, on the south by Walker, and the west by Winston. It encompasses 738 square miles. The town of Cullman is the county seat. Other towns and communities include Good Hope, Holly Pond, Arkadelphia, and Bug Tussle.


The Cullman Times online



  Owen, Thomas McAdory. History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography. Chicago: S. J. Clarke   Publishing Co., 1921.



Return to Alabama Counties
Return to Alabama History On-Line




Updated: February 6, 2014