Alabama Counties: Calhoun County


Click-on the map to get a detailed image of the county
Provided by Alabama Maps


map of Alabama counties with Calhoun County highlighted

Calhoun County, Ala., was created on 1832 Dec. 18 from ceded Creek Indian Territory. It was originally named Benton County in honor of Thomas Hart Benton. The county seat was established in Jacksonville in 1833. On January 29, 1858, the name was changed to Calhoun County in honor of John C. Calhoun (South Carolina). The county seat was moved to Anniston in 1899.


Calhoun County is located in the northeastern section of the state, in the Appalachian Mountain chain. It encompasses 611 square miles. The Coosa River flows along the western boundary of the county. Notable towns include Anniston, Jacksonville, Piedmont, and Oxford.


The Anniston Star online

The Jacksonville News online


  Owen, Thomas McAdory. History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography. Chicago: S.J. Clarke   Publishing Co., 1921.


Search for Calhoun County newspapers on microfilm


Return to Alabama Counties
Return to Alabama History On-Line




Updated: February 6, 2014